Posted by: RealisticRecovery | August 13, 2009

Adult Children of Alcoholics: Long-term effects

Adult Children of Alcoholics: Long-term effects

Excerpt:

Children of alcoholics have a 40 percent chance of becoming alcoholics themselves. Whether a physical predisposition exists is uncertain, but according to statistics, growing up in an alcoholic home itself encourages alcoholism or a propensity to marry an alcoholic.

Article removed by request, for full article please visit here.

Responses

  1. Thank you for posting this article. Through it, I discovered I was the “family hero” and finally can stop feeling guilty about burnout. You’ve inspired me to start going back to Al-Anon or ACOA meetings. 🙂

    • Hey DeDe, welcome to the site:

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting.
      Dysfunctional families are exhausting. ha

      I’m glad you will be going back to Al-Anon or ACoA meetings.
      I can’t believe ACoA isn’t bigger , almost everyone qualifies for this fellowship in our culture.

      When you have time, check out the rest of the site, there’s lots of stuff to read.

      Mike

  2. Great informartion on children of alcoholics!
    Thank you.

    • Thanks Phillip for dropping by the site and taking the time to comment.
      Don’t forget to come back and take a look around the rest of the site whenever you have time.

      And here’s more info on ACA:

      Archive for the ‘Adult Children / Codependency/ Family Dysfunction’ Category

      Mike H

    • Hello,
      I am the author of the article you have printed in full here. I OWN this article. I write for a living. Realistic Recovery has this posted on its site, with a link to the article originally posted on Associated Content. It was also printed on Helium.com.

      You MUST remove this FULL article from this site immediately. You have infringed on my copyright and my ability to earn a living. You may use a paragraph to the article with a link to the article on Associated Content. That’s how it was done

      Thank you.

  3. I only recently discovered the term ACoA and am scouring the internet for information. I attended a family program at a rehab clinic yesterday and plan to start Al-Anon this week. In the meantime, I would love recommendations of literature that specifically addresses what to do once the “hero” reaches early burn-out. I’m at that stage and don’t want to go it alone now that I realize there are so many others in my shoes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

