Posted by: RealisticRecovery | July 29, 2009

Spiritual Wellness – Mindful Meditations

Spiritual Wellness

Spiritual Wellness is a personal matter involving values and beliefs that provide a purpose in our lives. While different individuals may have different views of what spiritualism is, it is generally considered to be the search for meaning and purpose in human existence, leading one to strive for a state of harmony with oneself and others while working to balance inner needs with the rest of the world. The National Wellness Institute says spiritual wellness follows the following tenets:

  • It is better to ponder the meaning of life for ourselves and to be tolerant of the beliefs of others than to close our minds and become intolerant
  • It is better to live each day in a way that is consistent with our values and beliefs than to do otherwise and feel untrue to ourselves.

Reaching Spiritual Wellness

It is important for everyone to explore what they believe is their own sense of meaning and purpose.

The path to spiritual wellness may involve meditation, prayer, affirmations, or specific spiritual practices that support your connection to a higher power or belief system. Yoga and meditation can also help you develop spiritual wellness.

Having compassion, the capacity for love and forgiveness, altruism, joy, and fulfillment help you enjoy your spiritual health. Your religious faith, values, beliefs, principles, and morals define your spirituality.

If you are a person engaged in the process of spiritual wellness, you are willing and able to transcend yourself in order to question the meaning and purpose in your life and the lives of others. In addition, you seek to find harmony between that which lies within and the social and physical forces that come from outside.

Are you engaged in the process of spiritual wellness?

Evaluate your own spiritual wellness with this brief quiz.

  1. Do I make time for relaxation in my day?
  2. Do I make time for meditation and/or prayer?
  3. Do my values guide my decisions and actions?
  4. Am I accepting of the views of others?

If you answered “No” to any of the questions, it may indicate an area where you need to improve the state of your spiritual wellness.

Start your path towards spiritual wellness by reviewing the Live Fit, Live Well workshop featuring “Meditation and Relaxation Audios

Free Mindful Meditations

The UCLA Mindful Awareness Research Center provides an introduction to “mindfulness meditation” that you can practice on your own for free!

Includes:

  • 5 minute Breathing Meditation
  • 12 minute Breath, Sound, Body Meditation
  • 19 minute Complete Meditation Instructions
  • 7 minute Meditation for Working with Difficulties
  • 9:30 minute Loving Kindness Meditation
  • 3 minute short Body and Sound meditation.
  • 3 minute short Loving Kindness meditation.

source: http://wellness.ucr.edu/spiritual_wellness.html

Responses

  1. thanks for all the great links!

    • Yeah, they look like great links huh?
      I will check them out more this weekend, and maybe see about downloading the audio files for my iPod.
      Perfect for some alone time at the park.

      The mindfulness clock looks like a great idea too.

      M

      • i’m jealous. it’s too hot here for the park. enjoy the park for me too 🙂

  2. On the other hand, when it is a question of spiritualism and a connection beyond the border, they are similar. In spiritualism, it is believed that there are also other things besides mere air around and near us. These are mainly deceased spirits with whom people can be connected to receive and deliver messages.

    Many people also like to think that they have been in contact with their relatives and their next-of-kin, receiving messages from them. On the other hand, others believe that they have been in contact with well-known people such as Napoleon, Picasso, Carl Jung, pharaohs, kings, or even people who are mentioned in the New Testament. The best example could be the famous medium, Arthur Ford who claimed to have been in connection with 8,000 deceased people.

    However, we may ask whether it is possible that in this case, just as in the UFO phenomena, it is only a question of deceit? Many people who have been dealing with these things do not take this into consideration, making a great mistake.

    http://koti.phnet.fi/elohim/spiritualism

    • “On the other hand, when it is a question of spiritualism and a connection beyond the border, they are similar.”

      That’s easy for you to say, but I don’t think there’s any need to bring the Mexicans into this.
      “On the other hand”, a lot of them are catholic over there beyond the border afterall, so the questions of connection are similar.

      “Many people also like to think that they have been in contact with their relatives and their next-of-kin, receiving messages from them.”

      I know for a fact that my relatives and next-of-kin have tried contacting me from time to time, and have attempted to send me strange creepy spooky messages too. I never know when it’s going to happen, but it’s usually in the dead of the night.

      The problem is that they’re not dead yet and I wish they would stop phoning me when I’m trying to sleep.

      “On the other hand, others believe that they have been in contact with well-known people such as Napoleon, Picasso, Carl Jung, pharaohs, kings, or even people who are mentioned in the New Testament.”

      I know a fella that has a special device that he knows how to use at special mysterious locations. He claims the special device can let him look into the lives, thoughts, feelings, writings and minds of people like Napoleon, Picasso, Carl Jung, pharaohs, and many kings. I heard him refer to the device as something called a “library card”. Don’t worry, I’m not sure what that means either.

      “However, we may ask whether it is possible that in this case, just as in the UFO phenomena, it is only a question of deceit?”

      Y’know what’s weird telson? I’ve never really thought about it that way before. I never really connected mindfulness meditation and the UFO phenomena before. (I’m embarrassed to admit)
      But the way you put it, it really makes alot of sense and is really making me rethink my whole way of rethinking things. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this before.
      Clearly, when “dealing with these things”, I did not take this “into consideration”, making a “great mistake”.
      How could I have been so blind?

      Hey, I went to your website, it’s awesome.

      I really liked that one part :

      Why is SPIRITUALISM WRONG?

      Repent your sins and reject your spiritual contacts and turn to God through Jesus Christ. When you do this, you will be purified of your sins and gain eternal life.
      On the other hand, if you reject the grace of God, then you must pay dearly for your sins in eternal damnation that has been prepared for the devil and his angels. Let therefore God touch you and release you from the web of lies.

      That’s awesome.
      Couldn’t have said it better myself.
      If you’re anything like me, you’ve had it up to “here” with all these non-believers.
      Why do they have to believe in all these crazy magic things that aren’t real and can’t be verified?
      Why can’t they just believe in sweet baby Jesus like you and me?

      Anyways, thanks for sharing, and keep coming back.

      Mike

      • OMG, that is the best response ever! I had to read it twice just to make sure you didn’t cross over to the dark side. I do love Mexican food, though.

        LOL at the connection between mindfulness meditation and UFOs.

        On teslon’s website, there is a picture of some compound-looking place. I wonder if that is where they are going to welcome the aliens. It reminds me of the Raelians, which is my favorite religion based on UFOs. Check out the FAQs too.

      • The burden of proof is on the believer, Mike. What proof do you have of a supernatural Creator with magical powers? Is the Earth and “Creation” proof? That’s quite an assumption. If you can’t explain something, then it must be magic, huh? Oh, and if you don’t believe, then you’ll be cast into a lake of fire by a “loving” God.
        But wait! There’s Jesus to the rescue! Subsection 4 paragraph j says believe on Jesus for salvation. He is the ONLY way to heaven. Wake up, buddy. Religion is a scam to make money and obtain power from the ignorant and fearful.
        Good luck.

  3. “I had to read it twice just to make sure you didn’t cross over to the dark side. I do love Mexican food, though. ”

    Haha!! I am from the darkside already. I love Mexicans and their food, Tex-Mex too. One day I want to go visit their pyramids.
    (I felt high after I read my own comments back, I almost deleted mine and telson’s comments.haha.)

    I met a bunch of French-Canadian strippers once who were Raelians ; no joke, very interesting, very open-minded ladies. With some very interesting recruitment techniques. But we’ll have to save that story for another blog. 😉

    • You are a great writer, and you have a great sense of humor, but I’m sure you already know that.

      I’ve only met Raelians at the airport when I worked there. And why do I think that Raelian strippers would be wearing some interesting costumes? haha.

      I also hail from the darkside. I hope that gets you some good comments from some of your theological followers. ha ha.

      And thanks for inspiring me to make some delicious black bean chicken tacos for dinner. It was delicious.


Leave a Reply

Categories

