Posted by: RealisticRecovery | May 16, 2009

Prayer of St Francis – Realistic Recovery Version

I based this version on an alternate translation found in Chapter 11 of the “Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions”, a book published by Alcoholics Anonymous* World Services, Inc. I think this way, I might be able to use it as a great daily meditation. -mh

Prayer of St Francis – Realistic Recovery Version

Let me be a channel of  peace;
that where there is hatred, I may bring love;
that where there is wrong, I may bring the spirit of forgiveness;
that where there is discord, I may bring harmony;
that where there is error, I may bring truth;
that where there is doubt, I may bring faith;
that where there is despair, I may bring hope;
that where there are shadows, I may bring light;
that where there is sadness, I may bring joy.

May I seek to comfort rather than to be comforted;
to understand, rather than to be understood;
to love, rather than to be loved.
For it is by giving that one receives.
And it is by forgiving that one is forgiven.
Amen.

for the original version, 2 alternative versions and some history and facts about this prayer, check this Wikipedia Article.

Leave a Reply

Categories

