Posted by: RealisticRecovery | February 22, 2009

Unofficial 12 Step Wording Alternative

Here’s another interesting Alternative 12 Steps. Found this one on a great recovery site: Bill Urell’s Addiction Recovery Basics

Unofficial 12 Step Wording Alternative (original author unknown)

Alternative Step 1: I realize that I am not in control of my use of alcohol.

Alternative Step 2: I acknowledge that a spiritual awakening can help me to find a new direction.

Alternative Step 3: I am ready to follow and stay true to path I have chosen.

Alternative Step 4: I have the strength and courage to look within and to face whatever obstacles hinder my continued personal and spiritual development.

Alternative Step 5: I commit to become fully aware of how my use of alcohol hurt those around me.

Alternative Step 6: I am changing my life and developing my human potential.

Alternative Step 7
: I am proud of my strength and ability to grow.

Alternative Step 8: I will do all I can to make up for the ways I have hurt myself and others.

Alternative Step 9: I will take direct action to help others in any way that I can.

Alternative Step 10: I will strive to be self-aware and follow the new path I have chosen.

Alternative Step 11: I will continue to develop my potential through helping others and strive to become fully conscious of myself and life around me.

Alternative Step 12
: I will continue to develop my own human potential and spirituality and will actively help others who cannot control their use of alcohol.

Leave a Reply

Categories

