Posted by: RealisticRecovery | February 1, 2009

The Universal 12-Step Program

Here’s the “Serenity Motto” and the “Twelve Rational-Emotive Behaviour Steps to Recovery” from the book:

The Universal 12-Step Program (How To Overcome An Addiction And Win)

by Kenneth Peiser, Ph.D & Martin Sandry, Ph.D

This is a great book, and was the exact book I needed to read once I realized I would need to write my own personal 12 Steps. I recommend this book to anyone struggling with the “God” and “higher power” issue within traditional recovery fellowships.

My “Serenity Prayer/Meditation” and “12 Steps of Realistic Recovery” were based directly on their “Serenity Motto” and the “Twelve Rational-Emotive Behaviour Steps to Recovery”. Again, more changes were needed to meet my own personal situation, but this book has been an incredible tool in my recovery.

Here’s their “Serenity Motto” and the “Twelve Rational-Emotive Behavior Steps to Recovery”:

The Serenity Motto

I shall strive for the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

the determination to change the things I can,

and the wisdom to know the difference.

Twelve Rational-Emotive Behavior Steps to Recovery

  1. I admit I have lost control of my addiction and that my life is becoming unmanageable.
  2. I believe a rational attitude about my life can restore me to sanity.
  3. I shall let rational thinking help me.
  4. I shall make a searching and fearless inventory of my past decisions and actions.
  5. I shall admit to myself and to another human being the exact nature of my wrongs.
  6. I am entirely ready to have rational thinking remove my shortcomings.
  7. I shall apply rational thinking to remove my shortcomings.
  8. I shall make a list of all the persons I have harmed, and determine to make amends.
  9. I shall make amends, wherever possible, except when doing so would injure someone.
  10. I shall continue to take my inventory, and when I act wrongly, promptly admit it.
  11. I shall seek to improve my conscious contact with reality, striving for the knowledge of what is rational and for the determination to act upon it.
  12. Having an increased awareness as a result of what I have accomplished with these steps, I shall practice these principles in all of my affairs, and I will carry this message to others.
Leave a Reply

Categories

